Humbling

Missionaries are my favorite kind of people.  Last Christmas, we made an anonymous gift to a missionary family and found out  later that it wasn’t as anonymous as we had thought.  In fact, the family probably never knew it was meant to be anonymous – that was lost somewhere long before the funds made it to their support statement from their mission board.  But, I digress.  The sweet immediately wife sat down and wrote a thank you note which read, “… it was humbling when we received our support and it listed your gift.”  “Humbling?” I thought, “Wonder what they meant by that…. Humbling?”  So I looked it up:

hum·ble

adj. hum·blerhum·blest

1. Marked by meekness or modesty in behavior, attitude, or spirit; not arrogant or prideful.

2. Showing deferential or submissive respect: a humble apology.

3. Low in rank, quality, or station; unpretentious or lowly: a humble cottage.

Checking a dictionary didn’t help much as it meant what I thought it did and didn’t seem to be the thing a gift would do to a person.

Perhaps one of the reasons I love missionaries so much is that when I grow up and finish school, I want to be one – in fact, God wants me to be one too!  This summer, we’re making our first out-of-country trip since the Lord gave us a burden to serve Him this way.  We’ve planned all of our finances so that school will be funded when we return, but we are asking friends and family to come alongside of us and help us financially with the travel expenses.  Lots of people are asking questions and responding with phone calls and reports of funds on the way and we’re thrilled!  The Lord is providing and we’re seeing Him move like never before.

We received a check today – a gift from my great-aunt.  She sends memos of family events and writes us kind notes a couple of times a year.  Along with her check came another of her handwritten notes which read:

Dear Ones,

I am happy to help you out a little, and will help any time.  May God bless and keep you safe.  Yes, I pray for you almost every day.  I am going blind from my diabetes and make a lot of mistakes when writing.  My retina doctor has been putting chemo shots in my eyes, but it isn’t helping.  Pray for me.  I love you and pray that God will keep you in His hand as you serve Him.

Aunt ****

Humbling?  Now ask me if I understand how a gift could ever be humbling.

Love always,

Ennis Hands

Categories: Missions & Missionaries, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

